home> poets> Rennie Parker biography

more poems       back to Rennie’s page           Members’ Events Listing       Shop Online

last update:

12 Nov 10

Rennie Parker photo
e-mail Rennie

poetry favourites:
The Rialto
Shoestring Press
John Clare Cottage
Templar Poetry


and in the shop…
collections –
“Jongleur: versions from the troubadours”,
“The Complete Electric Artisan”
Shoestring Press;
Kindle Direct Publishing;
“Secret Villages”
Flambard Press;
novella –
“A Perfect Vicarage Affair”
(Kindle e-book);
editorial –
“The Deceitful Calm…”
Laurel Books;



Rennie Parker was born in Leeds and currently lives in Stamford, Lincolnshire. She studied English and History of Art at Oxford Brookes, moving on to medieval literature for her MA. After several years working for local authorities in the East Midlands, she obtained a PhD in early 20th century poetry at Birmingham University.
Since then she has worked in community arts and adult education, while publishing poetry and criticism. Her first collection Secret Villages appeared in 2001 and was featured in the Forward Awards anthology, 2002. She has performed at readings, and runs workshops at festivals; during 2010 – 2012 the John Clare Trust employed her in educational development at the Clare Cottage, Helpston.
Her poetry falls into two categories – landscape-based, and character work. The latter resulted in Newborough County, contrasting with the introspective side to her writing. She also edits anthologies, and combines poetry with visual arts; printworks have appeared in regional shows since 2006, and she learnt lettercutting in stone to find other outlets for the written word.
Since 1987, poems have appeared in: The Rialto, Other Poetry, PN Review, Critical Survey, Dream Catcher, The North, Leviathan, Smiths Knoll, The Interpreter’s House, and Seam. A wider selection appeared in Reactions 3 and Reactions 4 (ed. Esther Morgan, Pen & Inc, 2003 and 2004) and she was included in Miracle & Clockwork (Other Poetry Editions, 2005) and Buzz (Templar Poetry, 2008). One of her intentionally funny works appeared in The Iron Book of New Humorous Verse (ed. Eileen Jones, Iron Press, 2010).
The Georgian Poets (British Council/Northcote House, 1999) ISBN 07463 0899X Secret Villages (Flambard, 2001) ISBN 1 873226 43 8 Newborough County (Shoestring, 2001) ISBN 1899549 53 6 Starting to Write (Studymates, 2006) ISBN 978 1 84285 093 0 Borderville (Shoestring, 2011)
The Deceitful Calm: a new selection of poems by Edmund Blunden (co-editor Margi Blunden, Laurel Books, 2006) ISBN 1873390 08 4. Spires and Steeples (ArtsNK, 2007). The Sorting Floor: A Lincolnshire Anthology (LCC, 2007) ISBN 0 954 5300 1 2 The Sorting Floor: A Second Lincolnshire Anthology (LCC, 2008) ISBN 978 0954 5300 2 0