home> poets> Ruth O'Callaghan biography

more poems       back to Ruth’s page           Members’ Events Listing       Shop Online

last update:

10 Jun14

Ruth O'Callaghan photo
e-mail Ruth

ppf shop on-line…
ppf Poem Card –
“Cordon Bleu”


and shop elsewhere…
collections –
“The Silence Unheard”,
“Goater’s Alley”
“A Lope of Time”,
Shoestring Press;
“An Unfinished Sufficiency”
Salmon Poetry;
“Another Morning of Quiet Pleasures”,
Soaring Penguin;  
“Where Acid Has Etched”,



this poet is taking part in the poetry pRO project


Ruth O’Callaghan holds the prestigious Hawthornden Fellowship and is a prizewinner in international competitions. Translated into six languages she has read world-wide, including Asia and Europe and her successful tour in the USA included audiences of nearly a thousand and was followed the next year by a TV/reading tour.
An international competition adjudicator and editor, she hosts two poetry venues in London where both the famous and unknown read side by side. As a mentor and workshop leader both in the UK and abroad, she works with experienced poets to enable them to approach their poetry with a new perspective and with novice poets to achieve a first collection. Both a reviewer and interviewer Ruth is at present compiling a book of interviews with some of the most eminent women poets throughout the world.
In 2010 she was invited to Taiwan where she was awarded a gold medal for her poetry. In 2009 she was awarded an Arts Council grant to visit Mongolia to collaborate with women poets on a book and a C.D. available from Soaring Penguin. She has been awarded two separate Heinrich Böll residencies.
Her first two collections, Where Acid has Etched (bluechrome 2007) and A Lope of Time (Shoestring 2009) completely sold out. The latter was re-printed whilst her collection, Goater’s Alley (Shoestring), had to be re-printed twice. Her latest collection The Silence Unheard has also sold and has been reprinted. Her sixth collection An Unfinished Sufficiency has been accepted for publication and she is, at present, working on her seventh collection. Ruth is published in numerous magazines and anthologies and her full collections are:
The Silence Unheard (Shoestring 2013. Re-printed 2014.)
Another Morning of Quiet Pleasures (Soaring Penguin 2013)
Goater’s Alley (Shoestring 2010)
A Lope of Time (Shoestring 2009)
Where Acid Has Etched (bluechrome 2007)