home> poets> Pauline Kirk biography

more poems       back to Pauline’s page           Members’ Events Listing       Shop Online

last update:
10 Sep16

Pauline Kirk photo e-mail Pauline
Pauline M Kirk website

poetry favourites:
Pennine Poets & Fighting Cock Press
York Authors
P J Quinn
Dream Catcher
Stairwell Books

and in the shop…
collections –
“Envying the Wild”
Fighting Cock Press;
“Walking to Snailbeach, New and Selected Poems”
Redbeck Press



this poet is taking part in the poetry pRO project


Pauline Kirk is the author of several novels: two under her own name, Waters of Time (Century Hutchinson and Ulverscroft), and The Keepers, (Virago /Little, Brown), and three as PJ Quinn. Ten collections of her poetry have been published, including Walking to Snailbeach: Selected and New poems, Redbeck Press. An edition of war-time letters by her uncle is planned by Stairwell Books: Thinking of You Always: The Letters of Cpl, Hill 1941-45. She is a member of the Pennine Poets group, and served on the editorial co-operative of Aireings for many years. She is now on the editorial board of Dream Catcher magazine. Her poems, short stories and articles have appeared in many journals and anthologies, and been broadcast on local radio.
Born in Birmingham, Pauline moved to York in 2002 from Leeds, via Australia, Essex and Berkshire. After working as an Assistant Senior Counsellor for the Open University, from 1988 to 1995 she was a Voluntary Resource Co-ordinator for Leeds Social Services. In 1996, a ‘New Beginnings Award’ from Yorkshire Arts enabled her to give up her ‘day job’, and she is now a free-lance writer and editor. As a performance poet and leader of creative writing groups, she has appeared at venues ranging from theatres and arts festivals, to schools, community halls and social services day centres. She also judges short story and poetry competitions.
Pauline’s editorial work includes A Survivor Myself: Experiences of Child Abuse, Yorkshire Arts Circus, and local history booklets. She is editor of Fighting Cock Press, which specialises in high quality poetry from the North and retains a close link to the Pennine Poets. In 2016 the press will be publishing a celebratory anthology, Fifty:Fifty, and organising events to mark the group’s fiftieth anniversary. The Press published People in a Landscape by Colin Speakman in 2016.
In collaboration with her daughter, Jo Summers, as PJ Quinn Pauline has written a series of DI Ambrose mysteries set in the 1950’s: Foul Play, Poison Pen (both now available as e-books) and Close Disharmony (Stairwell Books). A fourth is in progress. A third novel under her own name, Border Seven, was published in 2015 (Stairwell Books).
Links to interviews by students of Leeds Trinity, and York Universities:
at YouTube                 at Facebook