home> poets> Carole Satyamurti biography

more poems       back to Carole’s page           Members’ Events Listing       Shop Online

last update:
2nd Jan18

Carole Satyamurti photo e-mail Carole Satyamurti
Carole Satyamurti at Bloodaxe Books


from ppf online shop…
Poem Card, “Countdown to Midnight” –
(with Christmas/New Year message inside),
(blank inside),
(& in Christmas set)

and shop elsewhere…
latest collections –
“Mahabharata: a modern re-telling”,
W W Norton;
and from Bloodaxe Books –
“Stitching the Dark, New & Selected Poems”



this poet is taking part in the poetry pRO project


Carole Satyamurti is a poet and sociologist, who lives and works in London. She teaches at the Tavistock Clinic, where her principal academic interest is in the relevance of psychoanalytic ideas to an understanding of the stories people tell about themselves, whether in formal autobiography or in social encounters. She contributed to, and co-edited, with Hamish Canham, a collection of essays on the connections between poetry and psychoanalysis, Acquainted with the Night: psychoanalysis and the poetic imagination (Karnac, 2003)
Her poetry has been awarded several prizes. She won the National Poetry Competition in 1986, and received an Arts Council Writers’ Award in 1988. In 2000, she received a Cholmondeley Award.
She is an experienced reader and workshop tutor, and teaches for the Arvon Foundation and for the Poetry School. With Gregory Warren Wilson, she runs poetry courses in Venice and Corfu, and has a particular interest in the links between poetry and visual art. She has been writer in residence at the University of Sussex, and a visitor in the Creative Writing Program at the College of Charleston, South Carolina.
Carole Satyamurti published three volumes of poetry with Oxford University Press, of which the first and third were Poetry Book Society Recommendations: Broken Moon (1987), Changing the Subject (1990) and Striking Distance (1994). Her fourth, fifth and sixth collections were published by Bloodaxe: Love and Variations (2000), Stitching the Dark: New and Selected Poems (2005) and Countdown (2011) and, in 2015, her Mahabharata: a modern re-telling was published by WW Norton and won that year’s Roehampton Poetry Prize.
Also see feature: Reviews by Margaret Speak, which includes a review of Stitching the Dark New & Selected Poems.